Inter-ministerial Cooperation Protocol Signed on Disaster Education Year


Last January, the Ministry of Interior declared 2021 the Year of Disaster Education to create a culture of taking precautions in Turkey to prepare for disasters, to ensure transformation, and to keep people safe during disasters.

Under this project, the Ministry of Interior, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Family, Labor and Social Services, Ministry of Environment and Urbanization, Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, Ministry of Youth and Sports, Ministry of Treasury and Finance, Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Ministry of National Defense, Ministry of Industry and Technology, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Ministry of Commerce, Ministry of Transport and Infrastructure, and AFAD (Disaster and Emergency Management Presidency) got together.

"Disaster knowledge is vital knowledge"

The Minister of Interior Süleyman Soylu delivered a speech at the ceremony and said that experience was gained on the field due to the pandemic and disasters in 2020, and all ministries revised and tested their disaster management systems.

Minister Soylu continued, "Disaster knowledge is vital knowledge. Making sure that the buildings we live and work in can withstand earthquakes should be our priority. That is why we declared 2021 the Year of Disaster Education and our goal is to reach 51 million people with disaster education."

Protocols signed

Following the speeches, protocols were signed. Protocols were signed by the Deputy Minister of Interior İsmail Çataklı, Deputy Minister of Health Prof.. Sabahattin Aydın, Deputy Minister of Justice Hasan Yılmaz, Deputy Minister of Family, Labor and Social Services Mehmet Selim Bağlı, Deputy Minister of Environment and Urbanization Mücahit Demirtaş, Deputy Minister of Energy and Natural Resources Prof. Şeref Kalaycı, Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports Halis Yunus Ersöz, Deputy Minister of Treasury and Finance Dr. Cengiz Yavilioğlu, Deputy Minister of Culture and Tourism Nadir Alpaslan, Deputy Minister of Industry and Technology Hasan Büyükdede, Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Forestry Ayşe Ayşin Işıkgece, Deputy Minister of Trade Sezai Uçarmak, Deputy Minister of Transport and Infrastructure Enver İskurt, Deputy Chairman of AFAD Hamza Taşdemir, and the General Director for Personnel at the Ministry of National Defense Bilal Durdalı.


Updated: 20/02/2021